How to get to Queens Park in style????


Many things seems impossible but once a while there is a chance that dreams come true.

Growing up in Germany has certainly an  advantage if you love German engineered cars. I grew up in the town of Schorndorf where Daimler built his first diesel engine. This led to the formation of the famous  Daimler Benz company.

Mercedes was the name of his daughter, he named the cars after his daughter.

This became the favored car for farmers ,reliable, sturdy and strong. They pulled with this car their cattle trailers, horse trailers and pig trailers.

It also became the status symbol for the Government, providing the favored car for the Ministers and Chancellors of Germany.

Andy Brandt and Michael Schmidt

Two weeks ago I was on my way to Sarnia to see the former leader of the Progressive Conservative Party in Ontario Andy Brandt to discuss with him my intention to win the nomination as PC candidate for the Bruce Grey Owen Sound Riding. Just before we arrived in Sarnia I saw on the side of the road this Mercedes in mint condition with 43 thousand original miles. A piece of art, almost 50 years old.

Ready to serve

Ready to serve

My father used to drive in the 1960’s the same model and I drove this model in the 1970’s. For years I thought if I ever find such a car in Canada I will try to buy it.

Guess what?????

I bought this car with the help of my daughter for less then any new car with the same mileage would have cost today.

I finally found the car which will bring me down to Queens Park in style.

Michael with his youngest son Oliver

Back to Basics at its best


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to How to get to Queens Park in style????

  1. Augie says:

    Hay Michael. Yea, I won a prize bottle of wine from South American business by guessing a spark plug came for a Benz in 1895. But Karl and his brother LOST the first American automobile race in 1896 in Chicago to the Duryea Brothers– who then built the first production vehicles.

  2. A fitting find for a fitting man!
    Cheers my friend!
    Bruce

  3. Pingback: First we take the Progressive Conservative party nomination, then Tim Horton’s — raw milk farmer Michael Schmidt on the campaign trail « The Bovine

Leave a Reply

